It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:45 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:04 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 5:58 am
Posts: 3
If I use a broadband dongle on my laptop will it have the same IP address as when the laptop is connected to my home wireless broadband


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:31 pm 
Offline
Active Member

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:29 am
Posts: 230
Location: North Wales
Hi kathemi. The answer to your question is no. When you first used your home network to connect your laptop then you might have been prompted for a web key when you first made that internet connection and that internet connection on your laptop should remember that connection.

When you install the dongle software that will also install a new internet connection for when you use the dongle so when you have the dongle plugged in to your laptop and you have connected through the broadband provider associated through that dongle then you would be using their IP Address as soon as you disconnect from that provider you can reconnect to your home network and you use your home networks IP Address again.

If you laptop has a warless card built in to it then all you should have to do when you get home is pull out the dongle and let your laptop connect through your home network.

If you tell me what operating system you are using and some more info about the dongle and what is your home router is then I might be able to give you some more advice


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:15 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 5:58 am
Posts: 3
Thanks for the info Raps
Currently running XP. Wireless through Virgin Media cable broadband. Router is Netgear WGR614. Webstar cable modem.
Not got the dongle yet but will probably be Orange


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:07 pm 
Offline
Active Member

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:29 am
Posts: 230
Location: North Wales
Cool that’s a nice router the Netgear I’ve got 2 of them and I’ve a dongle from Orange too. With my dongle I managed to connect through Orange when I am out of the house and when I get home I can disconnect from Orange and then search for a network using the dongle and it picks up my home network through my dongle I thought that was pretty neat. Let me know if you run into any problems when you get your dongle.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 12:55 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 5:58 am
Posts: 3
Thanks Raps
Works fine


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:14 am 
Offline
Active Member

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:29 am
Posts: 230
Location: North Wales
Cool, good to know :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:55 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:43 am
Posts: 2
Hope this is related. I have access to paid site,limited to a home PC and a mobile laptop, I use 2 laptops. If I use my broadband dongle in more than one laptop, will the MAN know. Thanks for any advise. :


Last edited by snake on Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:39 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:23 am 
Offline
Active Member

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:29 am
Posts: 230
Location: North Wales
You can use your dongle on any of your laptops because you pay for that internet connection through the dongle. You can even use that dongle through a desktop too it doesn’t have to just be a laptop.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:36 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:43 am
Posts: 2
Thanks Raps, puts my mind at rest.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:43 am 
Offline
Active Member

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:29 am
Posts: 230
Location: North Wales
np, glad I could help.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

© 2000-2013 WhatIsMyIPAddress.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group