It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 11:02 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:36 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:18 am
Posts: 3
Hello I am having a very strange problem, There is this site that I do surveys on and when I tried to order items from them with my points they deny it and say say my IP location is located in Kansas and I live in Pennsylvania! They said it was because I am using a wireless connection. Ok fair enough so I looked around for a dialup option and low and behold I found a free one, So I connect with it go through checkout and they still say my IP location is in Kansas! I am at my wits end and I am hoping someone on this great site could help me.

Here are some specs:

COMODO Internet security

Virgin Mobile Broadband2go MIFI 2200 connect card

Medialink usb wifi dongle

Netzero free dialup

Encore usb modem

They both say my location is smack dab in the middle of Kansas. I am connected to the MIFI while I am typing this. If you need any more info just ask, Sorry for the long post. Any help would be appreciated, Thank you for you time. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:37 pm 
Offline
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:41 pm
Posts: 1629
Depending on what geolocation database is being used "Kansas" could just be the center of the United States, because the geolocation data provider has no more detail than that.

If you are referring to this site, please provide the IP address(es) in question and a most specific answer may be possible.

_________________
whatismyipaddress.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:31 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:18 am
Posts: 3
Hello my mifi IP address is 66.87.8.55


And my dialup address is 69.72.36.81


The one I am more worried about is the MIFI because I think I got the dialup to work because somehow I went to a site called http://www.ip-adress.com/ip_tracer/ and it said I was somehow behind a transparency proxy thing and it gave me another IP address and it was in the right location.

I don't know what is going on I don't think I am behind a proxy. Thank you for your time in helping me with this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 2:33 am 
Offline
Active Member

Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:12 pm
Posts: 420
This generally happens when an ISP doesn't specify an exact address when registering an ip range.

_________________
Want to be a VPN reseller with benefits?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:11 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:18 am
Posts: 3
So as long as I use the MIFI no one will know where my location is? Is there a way to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:14 am 
Offline
Active Member

Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:12 pm
Posts: 420
Only an isp can do that. In your case, your isp would have to go to ARIN (American Registry for Internet Numbers) and modify what information they have for their ranges.

_________________
Want to be a VPN reseller with benefits?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 8:42 am 
Offline
Active Member

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:49 am
Posts: 31
no no no no
An IP is not supposed to provide a precise location. So it is not ISP job to improve their IP's location.
It is website job to stop performing localization tests on IP. So explain your problem to the website, and they will probably add an exception for you in their policy, or perhaps (better!) change their *** policy.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

© 2000-2013 WhatIsMyIPAddress.com
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group