DHCP Enabled but my IP is still static

Post your general questions about IP address here.
Post Reply
HmHelper
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:22 am

DHCP Enabled but my IP is still static

Post by HmHelper » Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:29 am

Hello,

When i type the ipconfig /all command in CMD it shows me that my ip is dymanic. But when i check the IP online it shows a static ip and the ip does not change.

When i talk to my provider they also claim that my ip is dynmanic and theres nothing they can do about it.

Is there a setting i have to enable from the laptop?

I am blocker from another forum/game and want to get access to that game but i cant. This also shows me that my IP address haven't changed.

Is there anything i can do?

I have tried turning the router on and off and resetting the router

User avatar
Chrispcritters
Forum Administrator
Posts: 2432
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1 | ::1
Contact:

Re: DHCP Enabled but my IP is still static

Post by Chrispcritters » Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:39 pm

If your ISP says that you have a dynamic IP then they are correct. Our site is our best guess based on available information.

There are two additional things you can try:
1) Turn off the modem/router for at least 8 hours -- this allows more time for the ISP to release the IP address and assign it to a different customer
2) See if the modem/router has a "clone MAC address" feature. (make sure to write down the existing MAC address of the router before using this feature)
Founder & CEO of WhatIsMyIPAddress.com.
You can follow me on Twitter and Facebook for some behind the scenes info.

HmHelper
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:22 am

Re: DHCP Enabled but my IP is still static

Post by HmHelper » Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:39 am

when i look at my 192.... settings on the browser it shows the same static IP under WAN IP address. Is there a way to change it to a dynamic from there?

User avatar
Chrispcritters
Forum Administrator
Posts: 2432
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1 | ::1
Contact:

Re: DHCP Enabled but my IP is still static

Post by Chrispcritters » Fri Nov 23, 2018 3:46 pm

I'm not sure what you mean by "my 192.... settings on the browser" so I'll make a stab at it.

Do you mean 192.168.x.x IP address? Those are assigned to your computer by your router for use inside your router only and have nothing to do with the public IP address you see when you visit our site.
Founder & CEO of WhatIsMyIPAddress.com.
You can follow me on Twitter and Facebook for some behind the scenes info.

teleworm1337
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:13 pm

Re: DHCP Enabled but my IP is still static

Post by teleworm1337 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:15 pm

Turn off the modem/router for at least 8 hours -- this allows more time for the ISP to release the IP address and assign it to a different customer

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest