Proxy/VPN Detection API/Database?

Post your questions about proxy servers here.
DeadlyData

Proxy/VPN Detection API/Database?

Post by DeadlyData »

I'm a fluent programmer in various languages but for this project I've decided to work with PHP and I noticed that the "WhatIsMyIpAddress.com" proxy checking utility/service works very well.

So upon seeing such I was tempted to see if there was any API to use it with and unfortunately I guess you guys provide this nor source code to such.

While my current issue/complication is the fact my online services are currently being hit with multiple counts of fraud and account theft via tricking consumers into downloading things or etc.

I've done everything I can to cut it down a bit ( Block IP Addresses being used, report users to ISP(s), Warn consumers of the activities and told them how to protect them selves, Block Emails, Block User Accounts, Check StopForumSpam.com and etc databases ).

But one of the really big issues here is the users will always come back ( Using a different proxy then they did previously ).

So I started to build a system to check the whatismyipaddress.com utility to see if a IP address is detected as a proxy within your system and then log it to to a database so it commits a single query and doesn't overload your server.

Upon doing so I was presented with a 503 status code eventually, I know I should have gotten authorization from your staff/developers before doing something of the sort but I didn't expect it to be on such high load.

Anyway now that I've discussed my actual problem I was wondering if there's any services, or code/api available to query the DB of your proxy checking system or if there are any other reliant proxy checking services I could look into and get data from.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and...

Here's the code I originally had an implementation of,
Note: I've disabled this script until I get permission to use such or some other resource to use.