IP location is wrong

Post your questions about IP address geolocation here.
Locked
elaursen
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 5:52 am

IP location is wrong

Post by elaursen »

Hi

Does anybody know where WhatIsMyIPAddress.com gets their location data from?

My IP address is wrongly set as residing in Russia???
https://whatismyipaddress.com/ip/94.237.30.55

The real location is in Frankfurt, Germany (The company is in Finland, but the server and IP is in Frankfurt).

Most other lookup tools returns the correct information, but some firewalls and WhatIsMyIPAddress.com says Russia.

The result is that some firewalls block my website (because they do not trust sites from Russia).
I have contacted my host, and the only thing they can say, is that everything looks fine at their end :-)

How can this happen?

Thanks
User avatar
Chrispcritters
Forum Administrator
Posts: 2572
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1 | ::1
Contact:

Re: IP location is wrong

Post by Chrispcritters »

You can find a list of the major geolocation database providers and links to their data correction forms at http://whatismyipaddress.com/geolocation-providers
Founder & CEO of WhatIsMyIPAddress.com.
You can follow me on Twitter and Facebook for some behind the scenes info.
elaursen
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 5:52 am

Re: IP location is wrong

Post by elaursen »

Thanks

Any way to find out which one is wrong?

Or any way to find out which one delivered the data for this request?
https://whatismyipaddress.com/ip/94.237.30.55
User avatar
Chrispcritters
Forum Administrator
Posts: 2572
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1 | ::1
Contact:

Re: IP location is wrong

Post by Chrispcritters »

The site uses a mix of data sources.

I suggest that if you want to make sure that it's corrected on more than just WhatIsMyIPAddress.com you check and submit an update at each of them.
Founder & CEO of WhatIsMyIPAddress.com.
You can follow me on Twitter and Facebook for some behind the scenes info.
elaursen
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2020 5:52 am

Re: IP location is wrong

Post by elaursen »

It turned out to be MaxMind that was the culprit.
I have sent a correction request.

Thank you for your help :-)
Locked